SAY GOODBYE TO AMERICA (AND THE AMERICAN DREAM)

I love this country. I love what our Constitution stands for and for the dream that our founding fathers imagined for us. I would give my life for my country. At least, I’d give my life for the country that I grew up in and the country that I served while on active duty in the United States Navy from 1979 to 1990. THAT country and the commander(s) in chief that I served under were worth defending. Under Carter, the military was pitiful and unappreciated. Under Reagan, we were proud, united and eager to serve! Bush 41 carried Reagan’s legacy into the 1990’s but by then, I was a military wife & I observed much of this through my husband’s career which finally ended with his retirement (after serving 21 years) toward the end of the Clinton Administration in 1999.

My father, uncles & father-in law all served in World War II. Our grandfather(s) served in World War I. I have ancestors that served in the American Civil War & the American Revolutionary War(s). I have served and my husband has served in the U. S. Navy. Hey, I’m a Jersey Girl and I was born surrounded by historic battlefields here in New Jersey and smack dab in the middle of the 1950’s “baby boom”!

Over the years, I have watched our country’s military decline along with our once vibrant industries. What ever happened to “Made in America”? Growing up, if you had a product that was made in Japan, Korea or China it was considered a piece of crap!  I remember when there was prayer in school, dress codes & if your team lost you learned to accept defeat with dignity and as a lesson learned. The loser(s) were not coddled like infants and given “best loser awards” as they are today. I wouldn’t dare talk back to my parents, teachers or any adult. I learned to respect my elders.  There was no such thing as a “time-out”. If I disobeyed or did something I shouldn’t have done, I was punished. I got sent to my room (without a TV, computer, phone, radio, etc.) and occasionally I got spanked! It was not abuse, just good parenting. Consequently, I grew up with good morals, values and respect for others. Look around at the current culture today and tell me if you think this “time-out” crap that parents are using to reign in their unruly kids is working.

528266_543061845746706_189111140_nI barely recognize this country anymore and am terribly afraid of where this country is going. Many people I talk to about this are afraid as well. I spit on the current leadership (if you can call it that) and the politicians who are currently running this country.  And I don’t care what color they are or what race they are or what nationality they are or what religion they are.  They are ALL to blame!

Sadly, we have a president and his staff peddling bullshit to the American people. Our unemployment numbers are NOT 7.5 %. The unemployment numbers are closer to 14% including underemployment.  Since when do we include part-time employment in the weekly jobs report? And tell me, please; what is this so-called “recovery” the white house keeps babbling about? What recovery? I don’t see it. Do you? Indeed, once the Affordable Care Act (aka) Obamacare goes into effect it’s going to cost American families thousands of dollars more every year all the while government employees, Congress, the Senate and ALL their staff(s) get the “Cadillac” plans that many of us once had & paid to have. Unfortunately, because of Obamacare, most insurance companies will no longer carry those plans because of the high federal taxes that are being imposed. Why can’t insurance companies compete across state lines anyway? Because of elected elite in Washington won’t vote for it. Did you know that insurance companies are pulling coverage out of many states leaving some states with just one? How’s that for a monopoly? I thought monopolies were illegal in this country?

We, Americans have been shrouded in darkness by our government. We have been lied to and violated. We have been surreptitiously and methodically stripped of our rights as Americans by the politicians with whom we have voted for and placed our trust in for years! Our politicians are “in” the top 1% of the American “elite” who gets rich while the rest of us get poorer. We, the working class (working poor in most cases) are left to eke out an honest living by working hard, paying our bills AND federal, state & local taxes in order to provide for our families every single day. It never stops!

How about voting? Do you believe that as an American voting should be sacrosanct?  Isn’t it supposed to be one vote for each LEGAL and LIVING American citizen? I always believed that. Additionally many people have voted several times in several states! Did you know that thousands of dead people, convicted felons as well as dogs & cats actually voted for Obama in the last two election cycles? Amazing!!! How did they do this? It is “Houdiniesque” (my word). Meanwhile, there are several states that want to protect our right to vote under the Constitution by requiring that each voter (ONE vote per person) provide a photo ID and have passed bills into law in their respective state legislatures that require this. Indeed, don’t we have to show an ID to someone almost every single day? Ever try to rent a hotel room or a car without one? How about buying a beer a pack of cigarettes; using a credit card and being asked for a photo ID or cashing a check ANYWHERE without an accompanying photo ID?  Ah, what to say about those airlines, huh? Try getting on a plane going anywhere without showing several IDs along with the added (dis)pleasure of a possible cavity search!

Regardless, the federal government is currently in the process of spending taxpayer dollars in an effort to sue those states. Now I ask you; what is wrong with that picture? And why are WE AMERICANS allowing the FEDS to spend taxpayer dollars to do so? I believe it’s because they (the feds) figure that very few Americans (accept the state being sued) are actually paying attention. So what happens when we, Americans and the states try to correct this or any imbalance or uphold the constitutional rights promised to us in our constitution? We are sued and called racists. This, my fellow Americans is BULLSHIT!!!

I think most Americans have become much too complacent with regard to our government. I think Americans have allowed social pressures to stifle their personal opinions with regard to their beliefs, values, morals, etc…… It is time we stop worrying about what’s “politically (in)correct” and start worrying about the downward spiral  of our country’s founding principles!

The preamble to our U. S. Constitution begins, “WE THE PEOPLE…” not “We the Government…”

Our Declaration of Independence states; “When in the course of human events, it becomes necessary to dissolve the political bonds which have connected them with another; and to assume among the powers of the earth, the separate and equal station to which the Laws of Nature and Nature’s God entitle them, a decent respect to the opinions of Mankind requires that they should declare the causes which impel them to the separation. We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness – That to secure these rights, Governments are instituted among Men, deriving their just powers from the consent of the governed, — That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government.”  I REPEAT; “That whenever any Form of Government becomes destructive of these ends, it is the Right of the People to alter or to abolish it, and to institute new Government.”

So, I ask you, my family, friends and fellow Americans, when will enough be enough? When will the real voice of the American people living in this country today really be heard by our state legislatures, U. S. congressmen (women), senators AND president? And exactly what if anything are we as Americans prepared to do in order to ensure our rights under our country’s founding principles & documents?

I wonder….

~dfh 9/25/2013

 

Leave a Reply

